
  

WASHINGTON 
IDENTITY THEFT RANKING BY STATE: Rank 13, 76.4 Complaints Per 100,000 
Population, 4942 Complaints (2007) 
Updated January 11, 2009 

Current Laws: Washington’s identity theft law states that no person may knowingly obtain, 
possess, use, or transfer a means of identification or financial information of another person, 
living or dead, with the intent to commit, or to aid or abet, any crime. 

“Means of identification” means information or an item that is not describing finances or credit 
but is personal to or identifiable with an individual or other person, including: 
 A current or former name of the person, telephone number, an electronic address, or 

identifier of the individual or a member of his or her family, including the ancestor of the 
person; 

 Information relating to a change in name, address, telephone number, or electronic address or 
identifier of the individual or his or her family; 

 Social Security, driver's license, or tax identification number of the individual or a member 
of his or her family; or 

 Other information that could be used to identify the person, including unique biometric data. 

“Financial information” means any of the following information identifiable to the individual 
that concerns the amount and conditions of an individual's assets, liabilities, or credit: 
 Account numbers and balances; 
 Transactional information concerning an account; and 
 Codes, passwords, Social Security numbers, tax identification numbers, driver’s license or 

permit numbers, state identicard numbers issued by the Department of Licensing, and other 
information held for the purpose of account access or transaction initiation. 

A violation when the accused or an accomplice uses the victim’s means of identification or 
financial information and obtains an aggregate total of credit, money, goods, services, or 
anything else of value in excess of $1500 in value is a class B felony, punishable by up to ten 
years in prison and/or a fine up to $20,000. Losses below $1500 are a class C felony, punishable 
by up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Upon conviction, the law allows 
courts to issue an order a victim can use to correct public records tainted by identity theft. 

These provisions do not apply to any person who obtains another person’s driver’s license or 
other form of identification for the sole purpose of misrepresenting his or her age. 
Statute: §9.35.020: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.020 

The relevant unit of prosecution for identity theft is an unlawful use of a means of identification 
or financial information. A defendant may be prosecuted and punished separately for every 
instance the defendant unlawfully obtains, possesses, transfers, or uses the means of 

Washington - 1 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.020


identification or financial information, unless the instances constitute the same criminal conduct. 
Whenever any series of transactions involving a single person's identification or financial 
information would, when considered separately, constitute identity theft in the second degree 
because of value, and the series of transactions are part of a common scheme or plan, the 
transactions may be aggregated for purposes of determining the degree of identity theft involved. 
If a person commits another crime during the commission of identity theft, the defendant may be 
prosecuted and punished separately for the other crime as well as for the identity theft. 
Statute: §9.35.001: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.001 

Jurisdiction: Identity theft crimes are considered to have been committed in any locality where 
the person whose means of identification or financial information was appropriated resides, or in 
which any part of the offense took place, regardless of whether the defendant was ever actually 
in that locality. 
Statute: §9.35.020: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.020 

Financial Information: It a class C felony for any person to obtain or attempt to obtain, or 
cause to be disclosed or attempt to cause to be disclosed to any person, financial information 
from a financial information repository, financial services provider, merchant, corporation, trust, 
partnership, or unincorporated association: 
 By knowingly making a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation to an 

officer, employee, or agent of a financial information repository with the intent to deceive the 
person into relying on that statement or representation for purposes of releasing the financial 
information; 

	 By knowingly making a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation to a 
customer of a financial information repository, financial services provider, merchant, 
corporation, trust, partnership, or unincorporated association with the intent to deceive the 
customer into releasing financial information or authorizing the release of such information; 

	 By knowingly providing any document to an officer, employee, or agent of a financial 
information repository, financial services provider, merchant, corporation, trust, partnership, 
or unincorporated association, knowing that the document is forged, counterfeit, lost, or 
stolen; was fraudulently obtained; or contains a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or 
representation, if the document is provided with the intent to deceive the officer, employee, 
or agent to release the financial information. 

In addition to criminal penalties, violators are also liable for $500 or actual damages, whichever 
is greater, and reasonable attorneys’ fees. 
Statute: §9.35.010: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.010 

Phishing: The state prohibits “phishing” scams, in which identity thieves try to trick consumers 
out of personal information by sending e-mails that appear to come from a business, such as a 
bank. It is a violation for a person to take any action to induce a person to provide personally 
identifying information by means of a web page, electronic mail message, or otherwise using the 
internet by representing oneself, either directly or by implication, to be another person, without 
the authority or approval of such other person. 
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“Personally identifying information” means an individual’s: Social Security number; driver’s 

license number; bank account number; credit or debit card number; personal identification 

number; automated or electronic signature; unique biometric data; account passwords; or any 

other piece of information that can be used to access an individual's financial accounts or to 

obtain goods or services.
	

Businesses affected by such fraud can bring a civil action in Superior Court to seek up to $5,000
	
or actual damages. An individual may recover up to $500 or actual damages, whichever is 

greater. Courts may increase the damages up to three times for repeat offenders.
	
Statute: §19.190.080: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.190&full=true#19.190.080
	

Spyware: State law prohibits the use of spyware, software that surreptitiously monitors a 
computer user’s actions. It is illegal for anyone to transmit software to another computer without 
the owner’s knowledge or to falsely entice someone to download software, or for an 
unauthorized person to install software that would take control of a computer’s computer, modify 
its security settings, collect the user’s personal identification information, interfere with its 
removal, or otherwise deceive the authorized user.  State law also prohibits: 
 disabling the ability of anti-spyware or anti-virus software to update automatically, if the 

disabling is done through intentionally deceptive means; 
	 using the owner or operator's computer as part of an activity performed by a group of 

computers for the purpose of causing damage to another computer or person, including, but 
not limited to, launching a denial of service attack; 

 transmitting or relaying commercial e-mail or a computer virus from the owner or operator's 
computer if initiated by a person other than the owner or operator; 

 modifying toolbars or buttons of the owner or operator's Internet browser used to access and 
navigate the Internet, if the disabling is done through deceptive means; and 

 inducing an owner to install software by displaying a pop-up, web page, or other message 
whose source is misrepresented. 

Violators can be fined actual damages or up to $100,000, whichever is greater. The court may 
increase those damages by threefold for repeat offenders, up to a maximum of $2 million. These 
prohibitions also apply to those persons who know or consciously avoid knowing that their 
services are being used to procure or transmit spyware. 
Statute: §19.270: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.270 

Drivers’ Licenses: It is a misdemeanor for a person to: 
 Display or have in his possession any fictitious or fraudulently altered driver’s license or 

identicard; 
 Lend his driver’s license or identicard to any other person or knowingly permit the use 

thereof by another; 
 Display or represent as one’s own any driver’s license or identicard not issued to him; 
 Use a false or fictitious name in any application for a driver’s license or identicard or to 

knowingly make a false statement or to knowingly conceal a material fact or otherwise 
commit a fraud in any such application; or 

 Permit any unlawful use of a driver’s license or identicard issued to him or her. 
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It is a class C felony for any person to sell or deliver a stolen driver’s license or identicard.  It is 
also unlawful for any person to manufacture, sell, or deliver a forged, fictitious, counterfeit, 
fraudulently altered, or unlawfully issued driver's license or identicard, or to manufacture, sell, or 
deliver a blank driver's license or identicard except under the direction of the department of 
motor vehicles. A violation is a class C felony if committed for financial gain or with intent to 
commit forgery, theft, or identity theft. 

For people under 21, making up to four fake drivers’ licenses is a misdemeanor if done for the 
sole purpose of age misrepresentation. 
Statute: §46.20.0921: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.20.0921 

State law also makes it a class C felony for a person to use radio waves to intentionally possess, 
read, or capture remotely, information on another person’s enhanced driver’s license without the 
person’s express knowledge and consent. The enhanced licenses, which can be used in place of 
a passport to cross land and sea borders between the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include a radio 
frequency identification chip or similar technology, which could lead to theft of the identity 
contained within them. 
Statute: §9A.58: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.58 

Payment Instruments: A person is guilty of unlawful production of payment instruments if he 
or she prints or produces a check or other payment instrument in the name of a person or entity, 
or with the routing number or account number of a person or entity, without the permission of 
the person or entity to manufacture or reproduce such payment instrument with such name, 
routing number, or account number. A “payment instrument” means a check, draft, money 
order, traveler's check, or other instrument for the transmission or payment of money or its 
equivalent value, whether or not negotiable, but does not include a credit card voucher, letter of 
credit, or instrument that is redeemable by the issuer in goods or services. 

A person is guilty of unlawful possession of payment instruments if he or she possesses two or 
more checks or other payment instruments, alone or in combination: 
 In the name of a person or entity, or with the routing number or account number of a person 

or entity, without the permission of the person or entity to possess such payment instrument, 
and with intent either to deprive the person of possession of such payment instrument or to 
commit theft, forgery, or identity theft; or 

 In the name of a fictitious person or entity, or with a fictitious routing number or account 
number of a person or entity, with intent to use the payment instruments to commit theft, 
forgery, or identity theft. 

A person is guilty of unlawful possession of a personal identification device if the person 
possesses a personal identification device with intent to use such device to commit theft, forgery, 
or identity theft. “Personal identification device” includes any machine or instrument whose 
purpose is to manufacture or print any driver's license or identification card issued by any state 
or the federal government, or any employee identification issued by any employer, public or 
private, including but not limited to badges and identification cards, or any credit or debit card. 
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A person is guilty of unlawful possession of fictitious identification if the person possesses a
	
personal identification card with a fictitious person's identification with intent to use such 

identification card to commit theft, forgery, or identity theft, when the possession does not 

amount to a violation of the identity theft statute.
	

A person is guilty of unlawful possession of instruments of financial fraud if the person 

possesses a check-making machine, equipment, or software, with intent to use or distribute 

checks for purposes of defrauding an account holder, business, financial institution, or any other 

person or organization.
	

All violations are a class C felony.
	
Statute: §9A.56.320: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.56.320
	

Scanning Devices: State law prohibits the possession and use of a scanning device or re-encoder 
that is used to obtain or record encoded information from the magnetic strip of a payment card 
without the authorization of the authorized user and with the intent to defraud the authorized 
user, the issuer of the card, or a merchant. Scanning devices are defined as a scanner, reader, or 
any other electronic device that is used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, 
temporarily or permanently, information encoded on a payment card. A re-encoder is an 
electronic device that places encoded information from a payment card onto a different card. 
Violations are a class C felony, and subsequent violations are a class B felony. 
Statute: §9A.56.290: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.56.290 

Destruction of Records: State law requires businesses to take all reasonable steps to destroy, or 
arrange for the destruction of personal financial and health information and personal 
identification numbers issued by government entities. If information is not disposed of in 
accordance with the law, businesses may be subject to civil liability if an individual is harmed by 
their failure. 

“Personal financial” and “health information” mean information that is identifiable to an 
individual and that is commonly used for financial or health care purposes, including account 
numbers, access codes or passwords, information gathered for account security purposes, credit 
card numbers, information held for the purpose of account access or transaction initiation, or 
information that relates to medical history or status. “Personal identification number issued by a 
government entity” means a tax identification number, Social Security number, driver’s license 
or permit number, state identification card number issued by the department of licensing, or any 
other number or code issued by a government entity for the purpose of personal identification 
that is protected and is not available to the public under any circumstances. 
Statute: §19.215: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.215&full=true 
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Victim Assistance: 

Mandatory Police Reports: A person who has learned or reasonably suspects that his or her 
financial information or means of identification has been unlawfully obtained, used by, or 
disclosed to another, may file an incident report with a law enforcement agency, by contacting 
the agency that has jurisdiction over his or her actual residence, place of business, or place where 
the crime occurred. The agency must create a police incident report of the matter and provide 
the complainant with a copy of that report. The law enforcement agency may refer the incident 
to another law enforcement agency, and the law does not require the law enforcement agency to 
investigate the reports of identity theft. In addition, identity theft incident reports are not 
required to be counted as an open case for purposes of compiling open case statistics. 
Statute: § 9.35.050: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.050 

Civil Damages: People convicted of identity theft are responsible for civil damages to the 
victim of $1000 or actual damages, whichever is greater, including costs to repair the victim’s 
credit record and reasonable attorneys’ fees. 
Statute: §19.182.160: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.182.160 

Credit Blocks: Within 30 days of receipt of proof of the consumer’s identification and a copy 
of a police report filed by the consumer, evidencing the consumer’s claim to be a victim of a 
identity theft, a consumer reporting agency must permanently block reporting any information 
the consumer identifies on his or her consumer report is a result of the identity theft violation so 
that the information cannot be reported. The consumer reporting agency must promptly notify 
the furnisher of the information that a police report has been filed, that a block has been 
requested, and the effective date of the block. 
Statute: §19.182.160: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.182.160 

Security Breaches: State law requires state agencies and any person or business that conducts 
business in the state and that owns or licenses computerized data that includes personal 
information to disclose any breach of security of the system to any resident whose unencrypted 
personal information was, or is reasonably believed to have been, acquired by an unauthorized 
person. A security breach occurs upon “unauthorized acquisition of computerized data that 
compromises the security, confidentiality, or integrity of the personal information” maintained 
by the person, business, or agency. Notification is not required for a technical breach of the 
security system that does not seem reasonably likely to subject customers to a risk of criminal 
activity. 

Personal information is defined as an individual’s first name or first initial and last name in 
combination with any one or more of the following data elements, when either the name or the 
data elements are not encrypted: Social Security number; driver’s license number or Washington 
identification card number; or an account number or credit or debit card number, in combination 
with any required security code, access code, or password, that would permit access to an 
individual’s financial account. It does not include publicly available information that is lawfully 
made available to the public from federal, state, or local government records. 
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The disclosure must be made in the most expedient time possible and without unreasonable 
delay, consistent with the legitimate needs of law enforcement or any measures necessary to 
determine the scope of the breach and restore the reasonable integrity of the data system. 
Notification can be provided by mail or e-mail. If the cost of providing regular notice would 
exceed $250,000, the amount of people to be notified exceeds 500,000, or the business or agency 
does not have sufficient contact information to provide written or electronic notice, substitute 
notice may be provided. When substitute notice is used, it must consist of all of the following, as 
applicable: e-mail notice, conspicuous posting on the business or agency’s web site, and 
notification to major statewide media. 
Statute: Businesses: §19.255.010: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.255.010 
Government Agencies: §42.56.590: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=42.56.590 

Security Freeze: All Washington consumers are allowed to place security freezes on their 
consumer credit reports to prevent new accounts from being opened in their names. Such a 
freeze enables the consumer to prevent anyone from looking at his/her credit file for the purpose 
of granting credit unless the consumer chooses to allow a particular business look at the 
information. Currently, only victims of identity theft and a person who has been notified of a 
security breach of his unencrypted personal information are permitted to place such a freeze on 
their accounts. 

To request a freeze, a consumer must request one in writing by certified mail. Consumer 
reporting agencies may charge a fee of $10 to place or temporarily lift a security freeze. 
However, victims of identity theft with a report of alleged identity theft fraud or a person 65 
years of age or older may not be charged. 

The reporting agency must place the freeze within five business days after receiving the request, 
and within ten days, must send a written confirmation of the freeze and provide the consumer 
with a unique personal identification number or password to be used by the consumer when 
providing authorization for the release of his credit for a specific party or period of time. 
Requests for a temporary unlocking of the freeze must be completed within three business days. 
However, if an agency has developed procedures involving the use of telephone, fax, Internet, or 
other electronic media to receive and process a request from a consumer to temporarily lift a 
security freeze, it must be completed within 15 minutes if submitted through the electronic 
contact method during normal business hours. 
Statute: §19.182.170: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.182.170 
For More Information: http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-Privacy/SecurityFreeze.aspx 

Fraudulent Transactions: State law requires businesses to provide victims, upon request, with 
information about fraudulent transactions made in their names. Businesses may require proof of 
identity and may charge a fee for the reasonable cost of providing the requested information. 
Businesses that refuse to provide information may be required to pay damages and a $1,000 
penalty for willful violations. 
Statute: §9.35.040: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.35.040 
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Prohibitions Against Debt Collectors: State law prohibits collection agencies from calling 
identity theft victims multiple times once they have been notified that a series of checks have 
been stolen or misappropriated. 
Statute: §19.16.250(20): http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.16.250 

State Resources: 
Office of the Attorney General, “Identity Theft and Privacy” 
(http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-Privacy.aspx) 

“Identity Theft” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-Privacy/IdentityTheft.aspx) 
This page provides information for victims of identity theft, including steps they should take.  It 
directs victims to: “Step 3: Report the ID theft to the police or sheriff in the area where you 
live. ID theft is a felony, and charges may be filed against the thief in the county where you live. 
Ask the police to make a police report and give you a copy. You will need this to help correct 
your credit rating.” 
 “Tips for Identity Theft / Privacy” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-

Privacy/Tips.aspx) 
	 “ID Theft Brochure for Consumers” 

(http://www.atg.wa.gov/uploadedFiles/Home/Safeguarding_Consumers/Brochures/pf_consu 
mer_id_theft.pdf) 

	 “Information for Businesses” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-
Privacy/Businesses.aspx) 

	 “Protecting Personal Information: A Guide for Business” 
(http://www.atg.wa.gov/uploadedFiles/Home/Safeguarding_Consumers/Consumer_Issues_A 
-Z/Identity_Theft_%28Privacy%29/ID%20Theft%20co_brand_business_booklet.pdf) 

	 “Security Freeze and Fraud Alert” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-
Privacy/SecurityFreeze.aspx) 

 “Phishing” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-Privacy/Phishing.aspx) 
 “Dumpster Diving” (http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConsumerIssues/ID-

Privacy/DumpsterDiving.aspx) 

“Department of Financial Institutions” 
(http://dfi.wa.gov/consumers/education/identity_theft.htm) 
This site includes helpful information for consumers, including: 
 “Avoid Identity Theft” 

(http://dfi.wa.gov/consumers/education/identity_theft/avoid_identity_theft.htm) 
	 “What To Do If Your Identity Has Been Stolen” 

(http://dfi.wa.gov/consumers/education/identity_theft/what_to_do_stolen.htm) 
This page directs victims to: “File a report with your local police. Get a copy of the police 
report, so you have proof of the crime.” 

	 “What To Do If You Lose Your Wallet or Purse?” 
(http://dfi.wa.gov/consumers/education/identity_theft/if_you_lose.htm) 
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Legislation: 

2008: 
SB 5878 requires law enforcement to take a police report from victims of identity theft and 
provide the complainant with a copy of the report. In order for victims to exercise certain state 
and federal rights, it is necessary for the victim to obtain a police report.  For example, a 
consumer must have a police report to freeze their credit, place long-term fraud alerts, and to 
obtain records of fraudulent accounts from merchants. The bill also allows prosecutors to bring 
separate charges against an accused identity thief for each use of an individual’s information. 

HB 2637 seeks to promote identity theft prosecutions by allowing records provided by out-of-
state businesses to be authenticated by affidavit, rather than in person, in criminal cases to reduce 
time and expense in bringing identity theft prosecutions. 

HB 2729 seeks to protect the state’s new enhanced drivers’ licenses that can be used in place of a 
passport to cross land and sea borders between the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. These enhanced 
licenses include a radio frequency identification chip or similar technology, which could lead to 
theft of the identity contained within them. Under the law, it is now a class C felony if he uses 
radio waves to intentionally possess, read, or capture remotely, information on another person's 
enhanced driver's license without that person's express knowledge and consent. 

SB 2879 expands the state’s anti-spyware laws to prohibit the following computer activities: 
 disabling the ability of anti-spyware or anti-virus software to update automatically, if the 

disabling is done through intentionally deceptive means; 
	 using the owner or operator's computer as part of an activity performed by a group of 

computers for the purpose of causing damage to another computer or person, including, but 
not limited to, launching a denial of service attack; 

 transmitting or relaying commercial e-mail or a computer virus from the owner or operator's 
computer if initiated by a person other than the owner or operator; 

 modifying toolbars or buttons of the owner or operator's Internet browser used to access and 
navigate the Internet, if the disabling is done through deceptive means; and 

 inducing an owner to install software by displaying a pop-up, web page, or other message 
whose source is misrepresented. 

2007: 
SB 5826 will allow Washington consumers to place security freezes on their consumer credit 
reports to prevent identity thieves from opening new accounts in their names. Such a freeze 
enables the consumer to prevent anyone from looking at his/her credit file for the purpose of 
granting credit unless the consumer chooses to allow a particular business look at the 
information. Previously, only victims of identity theft could place such a freeze. 

Washington - 9 



2006:
	
HB 1966 provides for increased prosecutions for identity theft by categorizing identity theft in 

the first and second degrees as “crimes against persons” instead of “crimes against property.” As 

a “crime against persons,” people convicted of identity theft cannot clear their records, can be 

subject to community placements or community custody, and cannot qualify for up to 50% 

earned release time for good conduct.
	

2005: 
SB 6043 requires businesses to notify a consumer if his personal information was acquired as a 
result of a security system breach. However, the bill was amended to allow companies to decide 
whether to notify customers when their data are stolen. If the companies consider it a “technical 
breach” that does not seem reasonably likely to subject customers to criminal activity, they are 
not required to tell consumers. 

SB 5418 gives consumers who receive notice of a security breach, as well as those who have 
become victims of identity theft, the right to put a security freeze on their credit file to prevent 
new accounts from being opened in their name. Such a freeze allows the consumer to prevent 
anyone from looking at his or her credit reporting file for purposes of granting credit unless the 
consumer specifically chooses to let a particular business access the information. When applying 
for credit, the consumer can lift the freeze for particular companies. 

SB 5939 requires police departments to provide victims with police or incident reports, allowing 
victims to work with credit-reporting agencies to clean up fraudulent accounts and place a fraud 
alert or security freeze on their file. The law does not require a law enforcement agency to 
investigate each report. 

HB 1012 targets the use of spyware, software that surreptitiously monitors a computer user’s 
actions. The bill makes it illegal for anyone to transmit software to another computer without the 
owner’s knowledge or to falsely entice someone to download software. It prohibits an 
unauthorized person from installing software that would take control of a computer’s computer, 
modify its security settings, collect the user’s personal identification information, interfere with 
its removal, or otherwise deceive the authorized user. Violators can be fined actual damages or 
up to $100,000, whichever is greater. The court may increase those damages by threefold for 
repeat offenders, up to a maximum of $2 million. 

HB 1888 amends the state’s anti-spam statute to specifically prohibit “phishing” scams, in which 
identity thieves try to trick consumers out of personal information by sending e-mails that appear 
to come from a business, such as a bank. The bill makes it illegal for a person to misrepresent 
his or her identity in order to solicit information online. Businesses affected by such fraud can 
bring a civil action in Superior Court to seek up to $5,000 or actual damages. An individual may 
recover up to $500 or actual damages, whichever is greater. Courts may increase the damages up 
to three times for repeat offenders. 
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2003: 
The Legislature passed several bills designed to cut down on identity theft and fraud: 
	 SB 5716 toughens the penalties for making or selling phony driver's licenses. Under the bill, 

dealing in fake licenses for criminal purposes will be a Class C felony. For people under 21, 
making up to four fake drivers’ licenses will be a misdemeanor if done for the sole purpose 
of age misrepresentation. 

	 SB 5719 makes it a felony to possess or use credit card scanners, small, cell-phone-sized 
devices that record the information on a credit or ATM card. It also criminalizes the use of a 
re-encoder to place information encoded on a credit or debit card onto a different card. 

	 SB 5720 allows merchants to ask for identification for a credit card transaction. While the 
bill does not require merchants to do so, it declares null and void merchant agreements used 
by some credit card companies, including Visa and MasterCard, which prohibit stores from 
asking for additional identification. 

	 HB 1844 criminalizes the possession or manufacture of tools used in financial fraud, such as 
blank ATM or credit cards, blank checks or multiple fake IDs. 

2001: 
SB 5449 stiffens penalties for identity theft and makes it easier for victims to obtain information 
needed to reestablish their identity and deal with their creditors. The law doubles the maximum 
sentence for identity theft to 10 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines in cases involving 
more than $1,500. It also makes identity theft a crime under the Racketeer Influenced and 
Corrupt Organizations (RICO) Act, which could enhance the penalties even more. 

The law provides victims with some tools they can use to clear up their own names and credit 
histories, regardless what happens with any criminal prosecution: 
	 Requires merchants and other businesses to provide identity theft victims information about 

fraudulent transactions made in their name. Businesses that refuse to do so could be forced to 
pay damages and a $1,000 penalty. 

	 Allows victims to block tainted credit reports by filing police reports with credit reporting 
agencies. 

	 Makes it easier for identity theft victims to testify by requiring prosecutors to try cases in the 
county where the victim resides, rather than where the defendants are arrested and charged. 

	 Allows victims to get court documents that help them correct their credit history if identity 
thieves are convicted. 

	 Provides that a collection agency may not call victims more than one time in 180 days in 
order to collect on debts created because of an identity theft. 
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