Skip navigation



The Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) would like to thank the SANE Program Development and Operation Guide (Guide) Planning Committee and the Office for Victims of Crime Training and Technical Assistance Center (OVC TTAC) for their contributions to the development of the Guide. OVC wishes to extend special thanks to Susan Chasson, Jennifer Pierce-Weeks, Kim Day, and Ralph Riviello for the expertise and guidance they skillfully provided throughout the process of developing this Guide.

SANE Program Development and Operation Guide
Planning Committee Members:

Bethany Backes, PhD, MSW, MPH
Social Science Analyst
Violence and Victimization Research Division, National Institute of Justice

Karen Carroll, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, NY-SAFE
Forensic Nurse Intake Coordinator and Forensic Acute Care Team Coordinator 
New York Medical College & Westchester Medical Center

Susan Chasson, JD, MSN, SANE-A
Nurse Practitioner, Merrill Gappmayer Family Medical Center
SANE Coordinator, Utah Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Jennifer Childs, BSN, RN
Nurse Care Coordinator, Cognitive Disorders Specialty Care Education Center of Excellence, Atlanta VA Medical Center
Former Emergency Department Nurse and SANE Program Coordinator, Hopi Health Care Center

SAFEta Project Director, International Association of Forensic Nurses

The Planning Committee would like to recognize the extraordinary dedication of OVC Director Joye E. Frost, who has been a champion for the sustainability of SANE programs. Her deep commitment and tireless support of SANE development during the past two decades has helped the SANE model to be recognized as the standard of care for medical facilities in providing trauma-informed, patient-centered, and comprehensive health services to survivors of sexual violence.

Leslie A. Hagen, JD
National Indian Country Training Coordinator, U.S. Department of Justice

Allison Jackson, MD, MPH
Division Chief, Child and Adolescent Protection Center
Children’s National Health System 

Donna Kelly, JD
Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Resource Prosecutor
Utah Prosecution Council, Office of the Attorney General

Sally Laskey
Outreach Director, National Sexual Violence Resource Center

Linda Ledray, Ph.D.
Original SANE Guide Author
SANE-SART Resource Service

Jim Markey
Owner, Investigative Lead: Criminal Justice Training and Consulting
Retired Detective Sergeant, Phoenix Police Department

Kevin McMahon
Criminalist, New Hampshire State Police Forensic Laboratory

Michael Munson 
Co-founder and Executive Director, FORGE

Anthony Onorato
Chair of the Scientific Work Group for DNA Analysis Methods, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Jennifer Pierce-Weeks, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P
Interim Chief Executive Officer, International Association of Forensic Nurses

Ralph Riviello, MD, MS, FACEP
Forensic Section Chair, American College of Emergency Physicians
Professor of Emergency Medicine, Drexel University

Jess Shaw, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Boston College School of Social Work

Marnie Shiels, JD
Attorney Advisor, Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice 

Nancy Smith
Director, Center on Victimization and Safety, Vera Institute of Justice

Kelly Stoner, JD
Victim Advocacy Legal Specialist, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

Anita Symonds, MS, BSN, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P
Forensic Nurse Examiner Program Coordinator, Christiana Care Health System